New Jersey Governing Body Information
2018 Marijuana Packaging Laws Update
Rhode Island banned the sale of cannabis in 1918 and today, this state has some of the strictest laws on large-scale possession. Legalizing marijuana for recreational use has been presented to the Rhode Island General Assembly every year since 2011 but have been held for further study. In 2016 advocates of recreational cannabis revealed a university study showing over 50% of the state residents support legalization. Rhode Island legalized medical marijuana in 2006 and was the eleventh state to do so.
The Ocean State has some of the most severe felony charges for the possession of marijuana. While less than 1oz is only a civil violation and 1oz to 1kg is a misdemeanor, 1-5kg with an intent to distribute is a felony with a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years. If someone is found in possession of more than 5k with an intent to distribute, the minimum sentence is 25 years. If the the citizen is found in possession with intent to sell within 300 yards of a school, the penalty can be doubled. All sales or growth of marijuana is a felony.
Medical Cannabis Laws in Rhode Island
The Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Program oversees all the regulations for dispensaries, patients, providers, and caregivers in the Ocean State. To utilize medical marijuana, the patient must be diagnosed with a qualifying condition such as seizures, PTSD, persistent muscle spasms, nausea, HIV/AIDS, and chronic pain to name a few. In the state of Rhode Island, other conditions are subject to approval buy a medical professional. The possession limit is a liberal 2.5 ounces. Patients are also allowed to grow their own marijuana plants but only in an indoor facility.
Compassion Center Rules in Rhode Island
Cannabis packaging and retail laws are still in development in the Ocean State, but it’s always a good idea to include very specific plans for secure, child-proof, and discrete packaging. As Rhode Island doesn’t allow for edibles or other cannabis products yet (always check with local marijuana regulatory agencies), they do allow for whole plant and plant matter sale. The laws for labeling require a list of the strain, batch, and quantity, as well as warning statements about cannabis.
2017 Marijuana Packaging Laws Update
The Rhode Island Department of Health runs the state’s medical marijuana program, and they’ve set minimums for packaging requirements, but not much else. They require that cannabis product manufacturers label their products with quantity, batch, and strain, and the only required text is a statement about medical use. That said, smart cannabis businesses know that even if the state doesn’t require it, having light proof, tamper evident, and childproof packaging gives both customers and government officials peace of mind.
Here is a quote from the Rules and Regulations Related to the Medical Marijuana Program:
“(j) A description of the packaging of the usable marijuana that the compassion center shall be utilizing which shall, as a minimum, include:
(1) A label containing the name of the strain, batch, and quantity; and
(2) A statement that the product is for medical use and not for resale.”